Weekend Recap: Friends & Family City Adventures

My oh my…what a fantastically busy weekend it was! I had a couple events to attend in the city this past weekend, so I decided to make a bit of a trip out of it and stayed in the city for 24 hours. In those 24 hours I squeezed in so much time with friends and family, and I cannot help but smile about how the weekend went even though I was absolutely exhausted afterwards. It was so worth it!

nyc

Saturday evening I met up with a couple of the girls at The Smith. I had just been there a week prior…so I think it’s fair to say that The Smith is becoming the new Penrose for me (sorry, Penrose!) ! Last week I ordered the Tuna Tartare (fantastic- though it doesn’t say on the menu that it is literally drenched in soy sauce which I’m allergic to. Needless to say, I took tons of Benedryl after eating it) and split the Squash Blossom Flatbread (ah-mazing. I could eat that flatbread all day, every day.) with my friend. On Saturday, I split the Ceviche and the Grilled Chicken Paillard with another friend- both were excellent, especially since the Chicken Paillard had a subtle spice to it.

Sunday was chock full of even more adventures! My friend and I went to brunch at Macondo which was just so darn good. NYC brunches might be the only reason why I love New York- that may or may not be a lie. Rather than have one of the famed unlimited mimosa brunches, my friend and I each had one cocktail. I love spicy drinks so I settled for the Maracuya + Vodka drink with lime juice and jalepeno. Now I only had one, but let me tell you- after having that one, I definitely was craving a second! For my entree I chose the Eggs Benedict. Now, this eggs benny is not your every day eggs benny-  rather than toast or a roll, it is served on yellow corn arepa with smoked salmon and saffron-lemon aioli. I think I died and went to heaven while taking the first bite. First off, the egg was cooked to perfection (and you know that a poorly cooked egg can totally ruin an egg benny), the sweet corn arepa complimented the salty smoked salmon so well and the saffron-lemon aioli tied everything together. I will definitely be going back! Besides the food being terrific, it was such a blast to see a friend who I hadn’t seen in a couple months.

After brunch I headed over to my brother’s apartment for a bridal shower. I didn’t know many people at the event, but I still had a blast. My brother’s girlfriend did such a fantastic job planning and executing the party which was nautically themed, and I’m wishing now that I took more pictures but somehow my phone malfunctioned midway through the afternoon.

IMG_9834

Later, I headed over to my friend’s rooftop to take part in her surprise birthday party which her boyfriend had planned. He is hands-down one of the most kind boyfriends I have ever met! I am so over-the-moon thrilled for my friend, who deserves nothing but the best. It was around dinnertime, so the sun was still shining super bright (how perfect was yesterday?!) but it was cooling down quite a bit. Everyone pitched in and brought something so we had chips and dip and meat galore! So much fun. I wish I could’ve stayed longer, but I was making the drive back out east afterwards so I had to leave a bit early.

kendras This weekend was definitely the perfect way to end a chaotic week…now I can’t wait for next weekend!!

xo

-j.

Leave a Reply

